The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL)

The Victorian Certificate of Applied Learning (VCAL) is a ‘hands-on’ option for students in Years 11 and 12. Trinity College offers two levels of VCAL: Intermediate (Year 11) and Senior (Year 12). Like the VCE, the VCAL is a recognised senior qualification. Unlike the VCE which is widely used by students as a pathway to university, students who do the VCAL are more likely to be interested in going to training at a Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institute, starting an apprenticeship, or getting a job after completing school.

Upon completion of VCAL, students receive a certificate and statement of results that details the area of study completed. Generally it takes one year to complete a level. At Trinity College, all students are required to complete a Religious Education unit and VCAL students will complete VCE Units 1 and 2 Religion and Society.

The VCAL’s flexibility enables students to design a study programme that suits their interests and learning needs. Because of the many varied possibilities required to complete a VCAL programme, it is important that every student who is considering following a VCAL pathway meets with the VCAL Coordinator to work out their individual pathway.

There are numerous options available in these areas and it is always dependent on the student’s interests as to the study areas chosen. The VCAL units can be combined with VCE study units and/or VET certificates. To complement their senior studies, students may also choose from auxiliary programmes that run parallel with the VCE and VCAL. Options available to students include a range of VET (Vocational Educational and Training) courses and SBATs (School Based Apprenticeships and Traineeships).

Units are selected from the following four compulsory strands:

  • Literacy and Numerac
  • y Skills
  • Work Related Skills
  • Industry Specific Skills
  • Personal Developme
  • nt Skills
TCC Logo